Etching on a glass

I recently tried my hand at etching a glass.  Here is what I used and some tips:

SUPPLIES

  • 1 Small Drinking Glass
  • Armour Etch (Can be bought at Hobby Lobby, Michaels, and others)
  • Vinyl
  • Cricut Potpourri Cartridge (Cricut Bug Shape cut at 3 inches or whatever max size will fit your glass)

TIPS

  • Make sure the vinyl is flush against the glass, otherwise you may get etching cream under vinyl and may not get a perfect etch on your glass.  I aciddentlly had a “bubble” and had a little bit extra run into the left side of the bughead.
  • Apply a generous amount of Armour Etch.  You can scrape off the extra later and reuse it.
  • Leave Armour Etch on for at least 10-15 minutes (Scrape off extra making sure not to get it on any area that you do not want to etch!)
  • Wash off the glass
  • Make sure you do not get the Armour Etch on your hands for a long period of time. It is an ACID!!!

One response to “Etching on a glass

  1. I just love this. I’ll have to lift this idea for my coffee mugs, if you don’t mind.

    I love your blog also. I’ll be back.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

